Compression Socks

Hello there,

You’re probably seeing the title of this post and wondering how, or why I’m talking about compression socks. Please bear with me.

My husband has worn compression socks for years. He has varicose veins, and the compression socks help with keeping his legs feeling fresh. Even when he isn’t working out, but is expecting to be on his feet for most of the day (ie: when we are at Disney), he will wear them.

Now, as I get older (I hate writing that because I’m barely in my mid 30’s), my body is slowly starting to fight back, and isn’t as spry as it once was. I am becoming more prone to injury and if I don’t stretch, I’ll pay for it. With my body starting to age, my husband has been trying to convince me to wear compression socks. I’ll be honest, I’m stubborn as a mule and I honestly didn’t see how a pair of socks would help me.

Right around our Disney trip, my knees were becoming especially bad. I was experiencing pain often, and even when I was particularly active. Now, being the stubborn person I am, I would just workout through it, run through it, and continued not to listen to good sense. When we came home, my husband tried one final time to get me to buy compression socks. FINE! I caved and ordered a pair off of Amazon.

The first time I wore the compression socks I went for a run. Game. Changer.

Maybe it was a coincidence, but wearing those compression socks shaved 2 minutes off my 5km time. That wasn’t why I was wearing them, but they made my legs feel lighter, less like bricks and made it so that I didn’t feel any pain while running. What was this witchcraft!? Since that run, I wear my compression socks as often as I can when I’m running – since I only have one pair, there are times I can’t wear them running, and I can certainly feel the difference.

Wearing compression socks keeps my legs feeling fresh! And who knew, that was their job!? Compression socks are designed to increase blood flow in the legs and feet. As a result, your legs ultimately feel fresher because the blood they are receiving is much more consistent and you don’t suffer from issues such as swelling.

Now, part of me thought that compression socks were only for people with veins issues, or for people with diabetes, but regular, ordinary, healthy people can really benefit from compression socks – especially during physical exercise. Granted, I’m not a doctor, but there aren’t any negative side effects to wearing properly sized compression socks for a short period of time.

I must admit, I’ve now placed an order for more pairs. I’m not sure I’m at the point where I’ll need or want to wear them for all exercise, but for running, absolutely! It’s also pretty remarkable how many runners wear compression socks when you start to pay attention. At the runDisney event, for example, SO many people wore compression socks – and KT tape. Oi, KT tape. I tried that out, and was left with bruising – honestly don’t know if that’s normal or not, but I prefer the compression socks over KT tape (personal option – do you).

I’m curious – how many of you wear compression socks? sleeves? etc. Were you recommended to wear them by a medical professional? or did you try them out one day and never looked back?

Usually there is some sort of moral to my posts, so for this one I guess it’s don’t be a stubborn mule when people are trying to help you – I could have saved months/years of pain if I had just listened to my husband (don’t tell him that). I should also try to stretch more – but that is an ongoing “to-do” in my life 😛

P.S The only downfall of compression socks is trying to get them on – the amount of times I have nearly pulled something or fallen over trying to get these suckers on…it’s pretty entertaining. Totally worth the struggle though!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑