Healthy Breakfast Ideas

I’ve recently been contacted by some of my readers requesting I post some breakfast ideas or a sample menu.

First, WOW! It’s such an amazing feeling to know people are actually reading this! So thank you!!!

Second, of course i can do that 🙂

To be honest, I basically eat the same thing for breakfast everyday, except weekends, so my sample menu might be a bit boring, but its a start!

Now, until a couple of years ago, when I started taking weight loss and my health seriously, I didn’t eat breakfast. Ever. When I started really wanting to get healthy, eating breakfast was step 1, afterall, it is the most important meal of the day. Since I work Monday-Friday, eating breakfast is more of a necessity than an experience. I am not the kind of person who can wake up early, make breakfast and then sit down and enjoy it. My breakfast is packed/made the night before and is tossed into my lunch bag. When I arrive at work, that’s when I eat it. This is important to note since my breakfast ideas will reflect this lifestyle. Basically, you’re not going to see egg white omelettes below (although that OCCASIONALLY happens on weekends).

Enough of my yammering. Below are some ideas for healthy (and quick) breakfast ideas. I have broken it into two categories; weekdays and weekends.

Weekdays

Yogurt Parfait

This is what I eat 9/10 days for breakfast. It’s super quick, covers all my bases and is insanely versatile. The options are endless! My basic parfait looks something like this:

  • 100g container of Greek yogurt (you choose the flavor)
  • 1 cup of fruit (strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, mango, banana etc)
  • 1/4 cup of grain/seeds – I usually use 1/4 of multigrain cheerios. They add a crunch and texture and are pretty low calorie. But you can add chia, flax, granola whatever you like. But note – this is the item that will determine the calories in the parfait. Some grains are much higher in calories than others. So if you’re a counter, like I am, you’ll want to choose your grain wisely.

When I pack this for work I usually measure out my grain and toss it in a Ziploc bag, put the fruit in a Tupperware container, and we buy individual containers of yogurt. When I get to work in the morning I mix them in the Tupperware container and BOOM, breakfast is served.

Protein Shake

If I have forgotten to pack my lunch the night before for work, my morning can be pretty chaotic. To make sure I still get my breakfast in, I often just make a shake. My husband and I both drink protein shakes, or protein + shakes which are essentially meal replacements. Now, some of you may have rolled your eyes, but these shakes now a days are pretty robust and healthy. Its not steroids, its not garbage, its a vitamin and protein packed delicious shake. The two brands we have used are shakeology (if you’re in with BeachBody), and most recently, 310 shake. Based on our research, these 2 offered the best ingredients and the taste isn’t half bad either. I usually mix mine with plain old water and my husband does his with almond milk. Now, I know this isn’t for everyone, but it’s an option. If this is something you’d like to try, I encourage you to do your own research 🙂

Oatmeal

Now, I am not an “overnight oats” kind of person. I’ve honestly never even tried it. To me, I’m happy with a little packet of oatmeal. But, if you feel adventurous, by all means try overnight oats, or just use the Quaker single pack of oatmeal 🙂 Quick, easy to pack and delicious.

Weekends

Because we tend to have a bit more time, and aren’t so rushed on weekends, breakfast can look a little different. Here are some of the usual weekend breakfasts found in our house;

Bagel

We have recently found some REALLY yummy bagels that don’t kill the calorie count and don’t taste like air. So when Saturday morning hits, and we have just come home from the gym, a bagel with butter, peanut butter or even some light cream cheese is a really great treat. And if you love carbs as much as I do, treat is really the best word to describe it.

Omelette

Egg white, or regular, an omelette is a protein packed and pretty simple breakfast, when you have the time to make it. Our omelettes usually contain;

  • 2 large brown eggs (white and yolk)
  • whatever veggies may be lying around
  • salsa (about 1 tsp) for a bit of zip
  • a SPRINKLE of cheese

If you’re feeling like living on the wild side, add some turkey bacon on the side 🙂

Homemade Breakfast Sandwich

  • 1 egg
  • 2 strips of turkey bacon
  • a super light English muffin
  • a sprinkle of cheese

Its a real treat, and if done properly can be far fewer calories than a breakfast sandwich from a fastfood restaurant.

Pancakes or Waffles

Now, I am not a huge waffle or pancake fan, but my hubby is, so from time to time we will indulge in these little wonders for breakfast on a weekend. The key to this is portion size. Pancakes and Waffles are not what I would put in the “healthy”column, BUT life and food is about balance. If you want to indulge a little, just make sure your portion doesn’t result in you indulging alot. When we make these, we tend to go thin, small and eat about 2 – I also pass on the syrup, but that’s just me.

The great thing about these breakfast items is that they freeze really well. Recipes for pancakes and waffles are usually meant for armies, so even when we only want a few, we end up making a lot. Rather than tossing them out, we portion the left overs into Ziploc bags and toss them in the freezer. Next time we are feeling like a little treat, we don’t need to make a mess of the kitchen 🙂

Other Ideas

While my breakfasts tend not to be terribly adventurous (I’m a creature of habit), there are so many other ideas for breakfast that can be quick and delicious. Just keep in mind, some are better for you than others;

  • smoothies
  • hard boiled eggs
  • protein bars
  • breakfast bars

Tips!

It’s often easy to make baked goods, or grab a baked item on your way to work, on a road trip etc, but be warned, these things are LOADED with sugar. Avoid things like scones, tea biscuits, muffins, bagels (too frequently) etc.

At the end of the day it’s all about finding options that fit within what you’re looking to accomplish. Sometimes the quickest option isn’t the healthiest, and even taking tons of time to make a lavish breakfast isn’t great either. Moderation and informed decisions are your friends when it comes to breakfast, and every other meal of the day.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

